From: Peel, Jackson
To: Press

Subject: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Representative Bartleman Awarded Legislator of the Year by Florida School Board

Association

Date: Tuesday, November 9, 2021 4:10:02 PM

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 9, 2021

CONTACT:

Nicholas Hessing Office of Representative Robin Bartleman nicholas.hessing@myfloridahouse.gov 954-592-2370

Representative Robin Bartleman Awarded Legislator of the Year by Florida School Board Association

Weston, FL. - Earlier today, Representative Robin Bartleman (D- Weston) returned to the Broward County School Board to receive the Florida School Board Association's Legislator of the Year Award. During the 2021 Legislative session, Representative Bartleman introduced HB 359 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic to suspend the sanctions and penalties associated with standardized testing during the 2020-2021 school year. Representative Bartleman's advocacy started a statewide conversation that helped lead to the Florida Department of Education (FDOE) issuing Emergency Order 2021-EO-02.

"As a former classroom teacher, assistant principal, and Broward County School Board Member for 16 years, I am honored to receive this award from the Florida School Board Association. I want to thank school boards across the State who supported this critical legislation and for all they do for our students and teachers," said **Representative Bartleman**.

"Representative Bartleman, as a freshman legislator, helped to lead bi-partisan discussions that resulted in flexible accountability for students, schools, and districts after what was probably the most difficult year for teaching and learning that anyone can remember. All of Florida's school districts appreciate her work on this and recognize her passion for students and teachers," said **Andrea Messina, Florida School Board Association Executive Director**.

Representative Bartleman has also been recognized by the Florid League of Cities with the Legislative Appreciation Award for preserving home rule in her Local Administration and Veteran Affairs Subcommittee and by the Florida Policy Institute with the Policy Pioneer Award for her passionate advocacy and hard work in support of health equity and children's well-being.